Images From My Life in Mongolia

The daily work – that goes on, it adds up. It goes into the ground, into crops, into children’s bellies and their bright eyes. Good things don’t get lost. -Barbara Kingsolver, Animal Dreams

Image

School with dog.

Image

School opening ceremony, September 1, 2013

Image

Fifth graders

Image

My original room at the school, until this past week. I am now in a room one fourth the size of this one, and twice as hot. I open the window all day, even when it’s below zero outside.

Image

Hooligans barking at a dog on the other side of the fence.

Image

Trash bin near the outhouse at school.

Image

There’s gotta be something good in here!

Image

Thanksgiving gathering

Image

A screw, a multitool, and a spoon took that cork right out. Later I learned of this trick:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=EHTADX5nxT8&desktop_uri=%2Fwatch%3Fv%3DEHTADX5nxT8&app=desktop

Image

Breakfast at the German bakery

Image

It certainly looked like Christmas there.

Image

My favorite Korean restaurant all decked out for New Years

ImageImageImage

Serene setting of IST (in-service training, marking 6 months in Mongolia)

Image

M24s at breakfast

Image

My PST group from summer with our counterparts 

Image

Orgilmaa, my CP, with the director of programming and training, left, and the training manager.

Back home again . . .Image

At the train station

ImageImageImageImageImage

My neighborhood, before all the snowfall

Image

My gate

Image

I’m grateful to the students who chop my wood

Image

A tradition in every Mongolian home, a dish of candy, previously arrol, a milk product. Many have arrol and candy together in their dish. My candy goes mainly to the students who chop my wood and carry my water.

Image

Goat soup in the making

There is a local shop that carries most of what I need between trips downtown. The people there are very good to me.ImageImageImageImage

The alcohol section has more vodka than anything else, except maybe beer.

Image

The lovely cashier who likes to practice her English

In the hashaa:

Image

My hashaa mom’s daughter and granddaughter visiting in my kitchen

Image

I am grateful for my view of the sky:ImageImageImageImageImage

And thank you to the French for sending cinnamon to Mongolia! Very lucky find!Image

I sincerely hope that, in the midst of all this, I am somehow benefiting Mongolia/Mongolians.

2 thoughts on “Images From My Life in Mongolia

  1. Darling Girl: Thx so much for all your messages this past year. I’m so glad things are going well for you on your great adventure.

    I’m doing very well except that my memory (or loss thereof) is giving me fits. My health is good and no aches and pains to speak of–just my memory loss which annoys me greatly. I’m still at home and in the process of deciding what to do next. My youngest son wants me to move in with his family in Tacoma, Washington and I was seriously considering it because he has two children in the family and I think that would be good for me. On the other hand, I’m beginning to wonder if I’ll be more a hindrance than a help. I’ll be going to visit them for several days over the holiday, so perhaps I’ll have a more clear picture when I return next week.

    We had a humongously awful week last week–weather-wise–a great ice storm encompassed the Willamette Valley–everything covered–traffic at a stop (except for those folks with chains), stores closed, etc. etc.. No power lost in our area, thank heaven, so all was warm and snuggy and even lighted!

    Gotta go for now, kiddo. Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you. Keep your newsletters coming. I enjoy sharing your travel adventures. B.

    Date: Sun, 22 Dec 2013 10:40:07 +0000 To: barbara_mathewson@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

