Vacation in Vietnam Part 2

My favorite day in Hoi An was a wet rice farming ecotour. This is their website:

http://www.hoianecotour.com.vn/#

My tour guide and I biked to the farm, going through a market first.

Image

 Image

Image

Image

 Mackerel and Anchovies

Image

 Shrimp and Crabs

Image

Image

 When the mackerel are big, they are cut into steaks.

Image

 Lots of sauces, I believe made from fish

Image

 Brown rice is used for worship, broken rice is fed to animals.

We biked past reeds lying at the side of the lane, drying, to be used for roofing.

IMG_1337 IMG_1338

We saw women working in one paddy, thinning the plants and putting them in bundles to be carried to another paddy and replanted.

Image

Also in the rice paddies there were Little Egrets http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Little_Egret

Striated Herons, which are very cool. They look brown until they fly. Then they look mostly white!

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Striated_Heron

Image

 Striated Herons, looking brown

Image

Striated Herons, turning white in flight

and a tiny bird that I could hear, but are apparently difficult to catch sight of, but that live down among the rice plants.

The ducks in the enclosure are being raised for meat, the ones that are free are laying eggs.

Image

Once at the rice farm, I learned how rice is grown with the help of a water buffalo. After having a cup of tea with the farmer, I rode the water buffalo. I’ve ridden a horse before, but this animal was huge! And his skin slid along his body. It was hard to stay on! Apparently, the trick is to put your hands on the animal, hold on with your legs, and sit straight up.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

I did some plowing,

Image

Image

cultivating,

Image

transplanting,

Image

Image

Image

and then I was rinsed off.

Image

Image

Then we became involved in the harvest activities.

Image

Rice plants

Image

This drum, studded with wire loops, works with a foot treadle, and takes the rice off the plant.

Image

This procedure breaks the husks.

Image

Then there was a series of basket techniques to complete the hulling.

Image

Image

Image

And I loved being barefoot in the rice paddies. I was so thrilled that they let me do every step! I then learned how to make a rice pancake, which is a savory ingredient to put in rice paper, along with cilantro, mint, and cucumbers.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Delicious!

Image

Then the wife of one of the farmers made me a fabulous meal of fish, homemade rice noodles – so good -, and eggplant and green beans cooked and seasoned perfectly.

Image

Image

It was the best morning of my whole vacation. Between this rice farm experience and the water puppets, I found the heart of what I wanted to experience in Vietnam.

Image

As we biked back to town, I saw so many gifts to my senses.

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

All throughout my vacation, I’ve gotten perverse pleasure from checking the weather in Mongolia, compared with 75 – 85 here. But the last few days, when I checked, there was nothing pleasurable about it. It was -25F in UB, and the night before I landed, it was supposed to get to -32F.

I am here in Erdenet, greatly refreshed, rested, ready to begin my new assignment. I am filled with gratitude for the chance to travel to Vietnam.

Image

My souvenirs: 3 water puppets

IMG_1377

3 thoughts on “Vacation in Vietnam Part 2

  1. Hello, what a fantastic experience. It looks like a true immersion into an aspect of life in Vietnam, and the hospitality of its people. Thank you for sharing your experience. Safe travels and stay warm in Mongolia with the memories of sunshine and sea.

  2. Ah, Kathleen! What a wonderful trip! Thank you for posting all these amazing pictures! You look especially happy on your Ecotour experience on the rice farm! So wonderful to see you look to happy. You were beaming!!!

Leave a Reply

